Love your food.

I recently changed my pay-for-tv package, and the new pack included a lifestyle channel.  I was pursuing the different offerings and was blown away by the sheer number of cooking shows.  And I know there are a lot more out there, because these were only British shows.

Now why is it, that in this current day, when more and more people rely on fast food, dining out, and processed and pre-packaged foods when they do eat at home, is there such a following for cooking shows?  I mean, I know people who come home with their takeaway, and then sit in front of the television to watch the latest episode of Jamie Oliver or Master Chef.

My belief is – and I am still working out the fine details – that food is essentially important to human beings.  And I don’t mean in the blatantly obvious don’t-eat-enough-and-we-die way.  I mean in a gratifying, nurturing, and comforting way.  Food features in religious ritual, in festivals and celebrations, and even in courtship.

But the more we devolve into a society that pulls a pre-packaged meal out of the freezer or pantry, maybe add water, and then  heat and eat, the less we experience all of the positive, reassuring emotions that have always been associated with the production, preparation, and consumption of food.

I am going to be exploring these ideas more over the coming months, both in line with my ongoing university studies, and when I find the time, in researching different aspects of my ideas and questions regarding food and the role it plays in our lives.  I hope you are interested in following along to see what I can discover.

Leave a Reply

